Sense and Sensibility: Marvel Illustrated

This is one of my reviews for the ‘Sense and Sensibility Bicentenary Challenge 2011’ hosted by Laurel Ann of Austenprose. (Here is my introductory post: ‘By a Lady’.)

A review of Sense & Sensibility (Marvel Illustrated), adapted by Nancy Butler, illustrated by Sonny Liew.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I borrowed this book, as I have never read any comic books of this kind before. I was very pleasantly surprised, as it follows the novel much more closely than any other rewrite or film adaption I have ever read or viewed. A great deal of the dialogue is simply lifted from the novel! The rest follows the book very closely, and, though somewhat simplified or condensed, it is done quite tastefully. Where more dialogue was needed, it was often taken directly from the narration in Sense and Sensibility. There were a few odd changes. Instead of speaking of the poet Cowper, Marianne is portrayed as admiring Byron, a poet not even mentioned in the novel. Besides minor changes like that, however, it was very accurate. It’s mostly Sense and Sensibility — what more can I say?

The illustrations were okay. Some of the pictures were pretty, but I am not in general a fan of comic style drawings. For their style, however, I thought that they were fairly good. My biggest complaint is that for some reason they made Elinor bald in front. However, they were pretty enough. They were playful and portrayed the personalities of the characters well. They also seemed to portray the period suitably. I’m not a historian, but nothing struck me as particularly out of place.

Overall, I was quite impressed with this work.

_______________________________

Sense and Sensibility, adapted from the novel by Jane Austen. Written by Nancy Butler, and illustrated by Sonny Liew. Contains material originally published in magazine form as SENSE & SENSIBILITY #1-5. ISBN-13:  978-0-7851-4819-7. Published by MARVEL WORLDWIDE, INC., a subsidiary of MARVEL ENTERTAINMENT, LLC. OFFICE OF PUBLICATION: 417 5th Avenue, New York, NY 10016. Copyright © 2010 Marvel Characters, Inc.

Leave a Reply

